Materials Characterisation & Performance Evaluation

//Materials Characterisation & Performance Evaluation
Materials Characterisation & Performance Evaluation 2018-03-09T09:19:08+00:00

Materials characterisation and performance evaluation theme has a broad coverage of research and development on both the theoretical and practical aspects of the processing, structure, properties, and performance of materials used in mechanical, transportation, aerospace, energy and medical devices.

In collaboration with IMPaCT industrial partners, research topics in this theme cover: Integrity of materials in mechanical testing, Fatigue and fracture, Corrosion, Wear and erosion, Integrity of components and systems such as gas and oil transportation systems.

Theme Leader To be confirmed

Materials characterization and performance evaluation theme is led by Prof Helen Atkinson CBE, FREng.

She has led several EPSRC projects all rated ‘internationally leading’ or ‘internationally competitive’, is Visiting Professor at Arts et Métier ParisTech (a Grands École), at the General Research Institute for Non-Ferrous Metals in Beijing and at North Western Polytechnic University in Xi’an; and has the received Lee Hsun Lecture Award from the Chinese Academy of Sciences.

Other staff members:

  • Karl Ryder (UoL) has a portfolio of grant income totalling ca. £1 M, a past Royal Society Industry Fellow.
  • Rob Hillman (UoL), an expert in surface modification, electrodeposition and interfacial characterization, Fellow of the International Society of Electrochemistry.
  • Simon Gill (UoL), an expert in the development of multiscale models for the evolution of microstructures, a past RAEng -Leverhulme Senior Research Fellow.
  • Martin Strangwood (UoB) is an expert in the fields of phase transformations and microstructural modelling related to casting & welding. He is PI on an EU FP7 project
  • David Book (UoB), currently has £1M of EPSRC funding, has 60 journal papers in materials for energy applications.
  • Mayorkinos Papaelias (UoB), an NDT and condition monitoring expert, the technical coordinator of the FP7 NIMO and OPTIMUS projects.
  • Claire Davis (UoB), FIMMM, Tata Steel supported academic since 1995, has over 100 journal papers, holds 2 EPSRC grants & 2 EU grants.
  • Brain Connolly (UoB), UK representatives to the European Energy Research Alliance joint programme, sits on the Board of Directors of the UK section of NACE-International, a past Royal Society Research Fellow.
  • Yu Lung Chiu (UoB) has served on local and national committees on electron microscopy and contributed to numerous conferences as an invited speaker
  • Philip Shipway (UoN), received research grant over £5M, regularly invited as a keynote speaker and is co-Editor-in-Chief of Wear, and is on the editorial board of several journals
  • Wei Sun (UoN), a member of the editorial board of “Pressure Equipment & Systems” and “Advances in Theoretical & Applied Mechanics”, published over 200 papers
  • Ian Jones (UoB), an expert of electron microscopy, co-authored ~200 papers, written two textbooks.
  • Alison Davenport (UoB), an expert on in-situ characterisation of corrosion processes using synchrotron X-rays, published 70 journal papers
  • Paul Bowen (UoB), FREng, an expert in the characterisation, performance assessment and modelling of the fracture and fatigue of alloys and composites, has over 220 journal papers, won IoM3’s Rosenhain Medal & Founders’ Award, attracted over £100m research funds from EPSRC, EU and industry; successfully setup a new £60m High Temperature Research Centre, leading the Doctoral Training Partnership (DTP) with Rolls-Royce/EPSRC and with the Manufacturing Technology EngD (MTEDC).